bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Driving Test

Listening to Bill Evans Trio while driving around town has made me a better driver. I did a number of tests after I bought some clearance cd’s.

Blue Öyster Cult’s first album made me kind of anxious until She’s as Beautiful as a Foot would come on, that song calms me down. I listened closer to the lyrics than I had previously and noticed a lot of weird stuff going on there.

My Bloody Valentine, Isn’t Anything made me depressed for a few reasons. A little because this cd is mastered weird and I never was completely into this album but badly wished to be. Overall just a melancholy driving experience that made me want to just stop and get out of the car. I kept thinking about how maybe Blonde Redhead’s entire sound is based on this one record.

Bill Evans Trio, Explorations album I hadn’t heard before now so it’s more fresh than the others on this list. Something about piano jazz really calms me down in traffic. It’s like sitting in a nice restaurant in the early 60’s. Like the template for the experience of a nice restaurant.

Bread, Anthology of Bread is a tough one. I’ve come to really enjoy most Bread but this anthology is kind of a nightmare. After a few listens in the car I concluded this annoyed me too much to focus on driving. (A Bread song came on at Hayes County BBQ and while ordering I said to N “Bread” and she said “I ordered bread”. I expected that’s how that would go down.

GÅS vol. 1 is the second album by the Swedish doom/psych/drone band. Sounds like a heavier Witchcraft, also from Sweden. I listened to this one a lot over the summer in the car. Doom is great driving music and I’ve always felt it helped me drive in difficult situations. It ranks lower than Bill Evans because I feel like I get riled up during some tracks.

2:43 p.m. - 2023-11-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

u2october
u-saved-me
alethia
jimbostaxi
newschick
pools-of-red
thecity
home-of-d
murder
holdensolo
narcissa
valasaurus
witty-remark
se7enchance
dangerspouse
mainsqueeze
comebacktome
starfacemoon
moodswing
boombasticat
dizzigemini
in-alaska
atwowaydream
darthuae
seventhofmay
the-grey-one
rivergoddess
secret-motel
babyhead
smokin8balll
sky-rocket
axde
drtourist