bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

German Free School

A place in town called the German Free School has been hosting underground shows. It's the third oldest building in town and sits hidden directly behind a large club on Red River and 10th. On a hill downtown, t's surround by a 150 year old stone wall. Inside the grounds is a large well-kept native garden, stepped with low retaining walls, flower beds, large live oaks and limestone stone patios. I never in all my years here knew about this place. Now it hosts all-ages punk shows.

At one particular show I spoke with a guy who was explaining to me "Egg Punk" vs. "Chain Punk". I'd never heard these terms and was interested in knowing. I won't go into the details of Egg Punk and Chain Punk. I hadn't heard of any band within these categories as it is mostly a mid-western thing. It's not terribly different from previously existing punk designations. It's just good to know kids still want agency over their musical categorizations.

After this conversation, which was quite long, I felt like I had been given secret information. I've been asking my friends if they are familiar with these bands and their designations, and not a one knows what I'm talking about. Out with the old, indeed.

2:14 p.m. - 2022-08-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

u2october
holdensolo
u-saved-me
alethia
newschick
pools-of-red
jimbostaxi'
thecity
home-of-d
murder
orangepeeler
valasaurus
narcissa
witty-remark
se7enchance
comebacktome
dangerspouse
mainsqueeze
moodswing
boombasticat
starfacemoon
dizzigemini
atwowaydream
darthuae
seventhofmay
in-alaska
sky-rocket
rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
smokin8balll
axde
babyhead