bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rink and Review

There’s a run down roller rink in my part of town I decided to visit. I hadn’t roller skated in 19 years. I’ve never been particularly good at roller-skating but my low center of gravity makes it easy for me to stay upright and go fast. These skills apparently never left and I had an easy time getting oriented.

Inside, it smelled like dive bar, feet, antifungal spray, bleach, sweat, little kids, piss, popcorn, wet leather,. It was an exhilarating smell. The kind of smell that makes a person remember they are really alive.

The rink itself was some kind of softer concrete/asphalt exhibiting many dips and swells as well as deep gouges, resulting in higher surface tension against the skates. This created an overall slower pace than one would experience at a wooden rink. I figured there had been many past issues repairing the buildings foundation.

There was a lot of cracked up and torn booth seats pushed against the wall of the rink. Most of the seating in the facility was torn up booth seats. A bag of Skittles was $2. A bag of Fritos was $1. Cokes were $1.

First the DJ played several Lil Wayne tracks followed by a lot of newer hip-hop with which I wasn’t familiar. The volume level was fine.

This was a BYOB adult skate night and mostly twenty-somethings were in attendance. There were never more than 25 people skating at one time. The rink was smaller than average. I may have been the oldest person there. Many in attendance may have been very stoned. I was not stoned but I had a very pleasant experience.

5:06 p.m. - 2022-09-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

u2october
axde
secret-motel
smokin8balll
holdensolo
the-grey-one
u-saved-me
alethia
newschick
pools-of-red
babyhead
jimbostaxi'
thecity
home-of-d
murder
orangepeeler
valasaurus
narcissa
witty-remark
se7enchance
comebacktome
dangerspouse
mainsqueeze
jrminor
moodswing
darthuae
starfacemoon
boombasticat
dizzigemini
seventhofmay
rivergoddess
atwowaydream
in-alaska
sky-rocket