bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bargain

In the wake of the ice storm, mostly busted pipes, gigantic utility bills, dead plants, low tire-pressure, filthy snow. The next day it was 71 degrees, partly cloudy. When I opened up the garage doors I saw several dead rats who tried to enter through the weather stripping at the bottom of the door only to get trapped and freeze to death, subsequently covered with fire ants. I bagged the rats in a series of plastic produce bags and Tyvek Amazon envelopes out of a recycle bin. I put all the bagged bags in a box, and the box in a bigger bag, then filled out the bigger bag with dust from the wetvac. Threw in some dead batteries, a couple burned-out light bulbs and called it a day.
Next day I walk into the garage, it reeks of dead rats. I knew it wasn't the rats I'd so meticulously bagged and boxed etc. During the freeze I told the rats it's fine if you're in my walls, I would do the same thing if I was a rat. I won't cause you any trouble if you don't come into my house. Ultimately, both ends of this bargain were held.

11:22 p.m. - 2021-02-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

alethia
witty-remark
newschick
pools-of-red
jimbostaxi'
thecity
home-of-d
orangepeeler
seventhofmay
murder
valasaurus
smokin8balll
secret-motel
narcissa
se7enchance
dangerspouse
comebacktome
mainsqueeze
starfacemoon
moodswing
boombasticat
darthuae
rivergoddess
dizzigemini
atwowaydream
in-alaska
the-grey-one
sky-rocket
axde