bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hyperosmia

As the plague goes on I’ve noticed something I initially thought was a psychosomatic side effect of constantly hearing about people losing their sense of smell. My sense of smell has gotten stronger, and by proxy, my sense of taste. This actually began a few years back but has increased recently. This sensitivity isn’t overwhelming, only enhanced greatly. I‘ve come to understand that it’s possibly a sign of numerous other diseases, xanax withdrawal or more likely over-exposure to certain dusts. At any rate, it’s mostly been a boon. Bad smelling things don’t appall me, rather I can tell exactly what it is and where it’s coming from.
Food has become a greater pleasure. I’m much more keen to the ingredients in foods. I can tell you the ingredients of any cookie (flour, sugar, eggs, butter). Even though I jest, I’m telling you I feel like some sort of super-taster. I’m not picky whatsoever with food I’ll eat anything. If something’s tastes “bad” it’s more compelling than disgusting since I’m trying to figure out why it’s bad. I have no problem enjoying something that tastes bad.

10:20 p.m. - 2020-12-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

alethia
witty-remark
newschick
pools-of-red
jimbostaxi'
thecity
home-of-d
orangepeeler
seventhofmay
murder
valasaurus
smokin8balll
secret-motel
narcissa
se7enchance
dangerspouse
comebacktome
mainsqueeze
starfacemoon
moodswing
boombasticat
darthuae
rivergoddess
dizzigemini
atwowaydream
in-alaska
the-grey-one
sky-rocket
axde