bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm Your Man

Back in San Antonio my next door neighbor was a guy named Steve. Older than me by about 25 years, Steve is a big guy, 6'4" 300 lbs, totally bald, deep voice, born linebacker, intimidating looking guy. Reminds me of Tor Johnson from Plan 9. He's a retired high school shop teacher who spends all day in his backyard doing woodworking projects and drinking beer. Every day we would briefly shoot the shit and complain together about whoever in the neighborhood was being a dick about this or that.
One day I was outside and Steve rides up on his big cruiser bike, shitfaced drunk he stumbles off the bike and says hi. Turns to go into his house, looks back at me and says Hey you like Leonard Cohen? I said Yes and he says Hold on a minute. A few minutes later I hear "I'm Your Man" blasting from unseen speakers in his backyard loud enough for the whole block to hear. I sat outside listening to a few songs. Later, from inside my house the music was fully audible. He played the whole album. When it stopped I went outside to express my appreciation but Steve wasn't there and his bicycle was gone.

11:47 p.m. - 2016-12-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

witty-remark
se7enchance
dangerspouse
comebacktome
mainsqueeze
in-alaska
seventhofmay
moodswing
boombasticat
starfacemoon
dizzigemini
atwowaydream
darthuae
the-grey-one
rivergoddess
secret-motel
smokin8balll
axde
sky-rocket