bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

anonymity and security

Attempting to be as anonymous as possible is difficult when writing about ones life. There are subtle things and obvious things one must do to acheive this level of anonymity. avoid mentioning the following:
-specific names of people
-specific names of places(unless it seems arbitrary)
-actual events that took place with many others present
-particular phrasing connoting your personal affectations

That's pretty much it. The first one is the most important. Then the third one. Although I break these rules regularly; possibly as a subconcious(or not) way of attempting to clue people in. I often think of this as some kind of protection/prevention tactic to place a wall between myself and my writing. The audience is of no consequence. At one point my parents read a journal of mine from somewhere online and I simply said I made it all up. And I thought to myself- maybe I really did make it all up.

2:17 p.m. - 2006-08-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: