bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TV Notes

Watching Olivier Assayas new incarnation of “Irma Vep”(2022). There’s an extremely compelling detachment/engagement dynamic existing within the characters of this show. It’s difficult to put into words. The disorientation of the mundane? For a director to make a mini-series out of a movie they made 27 years ago, and make it as good and possibly better than the original astounds me. It’s one of the more exciting things I’ve watched in recent years. That Thurston Moore composed the score is all one really needs to know.

Watching “Dallas”(1978). It’s a pleasure to see wealthy people suffer. This underlies a lot of TV. It’s non-stop and brutal in a way only the 1980’s could be. Much in common with “Succession”, which I find slightly too smug for my taste. Also too much swearing bores me. Like filling a dissertation with adjectives to meet the 20,000 word mark. “Dallas”, on the other hand is lean, care-free and nonsensical. Each episode basically stands alone and the first two seasons are so well directed and edited that I watched all 30 episodes in a couple of weeks. I also like seeing how much the region in which I grew up changed over the years. The title song is a very well composed and performed country-disco affair.

4:12 p.m. - 2022-07-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

babyhead
axde
witty-remark
newschick
pools-of-red
jimbostaxi'
thecity
home-of-d
in-alaska
murder
orangepeeler
valasaurus
narcissa
se7enchance
dangerspouse
comebacktome
mainsqueeze
starfacemoon
moodswing
dizzigemini
boombasticat
u-saved-me
atwowaydream
darthuae
seventhofmay
rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
u2october
alethia
smokin8balll
sky-rocket