bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SXSW 2011

3 best shows I saw

1. The Paperheads- 18 year-old dudes playing a straight up '67-style psych throwback music. I was across the street at Antone's Records and heard somebody playing a cover of "Psychotic Reaction" and thought I should get back over there quickly. Spent my last $5 on their CD.

2. Thee Oh Sees- My first occasion to see this band years after their hype. they were pretty much all they were hyped up to be. Extremely high energy.

3. Gary Wilson- Obscure 70's New Wave performer decided to make (another) comeback, this time utilizing members of my old band to back him up. They didn't even get a chance to rehearse with Gary before this show but they were still incredibly tight. Gary was covered in duct tape and sheets and towels. They threw bags of flour at the crowd. Played most of his best album "You Think You Really Know Me?"


6:31 p.m. - 2011-03-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
smokin8balll
sky-rocket
axde
in-alaska