bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stoner/Doom/Sludge

I turned my boss onto doom metal a couple of months back. He had never heard of doom/stoner/sludge metal, which I found strange since he knows all about hair metal and nu-metal. I gave him a disc full of Sleep, Electric Wizard, Melvins, Eyehategod, etc. He plays it at work every day now in the shop. He told me that he must have overlooked it because he got into rap in the mid-nineties. He says things like "I can't believe I wasted so much time listening to hip-hop when I could've been listening to this stuff!"
He decided to buy a guitar and amp and effects pedals based on what the guitarist from Electric Wizard uses. After spending several thousand dollars on guitar gear he asked me if I would teach him how to play the guitar.
"I need you to come over after work and give me some guitar lessons"
"I thought you knew how to play?"
"I did but I forgot"
"What? It's like riding a bike. You don't forget."
"Well...I forgot, ok! Just come over after work"
"I'm not gonna teach you how to play. you went to a arts high-school to play classical guitar!"
"I faked it"
"What?"
"I learned the tabliture and pretended like i could read music. I never learned how to really play"
(Me shaking my head)"I guess you're fucked then"
"I just wanna play like Electric Wizard"
"A 10 year-old could play like Electric Wizard"
"10 year-olds don't get stoned"
"touche"

6:30 p.m. - 2010-11-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

the-grey-one
smokin8balll
sky-rocket
axde
secret-motel