bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sheath Cake

My father turned 75 last week and I left a message for him to call me back. He didn’t call back so I left a message the next day. I remember this happened last year. He doesn’t check his voicemails or look at his phone much. I continued to leave messages every day until yesterday when he called while I was busy and left a message saying he just now heard all 7 messages. I could have just called my mom and had her hand the phone over to him but some part of me wanted him to learn some lesson regarding the consequences of not paying attention to your phone. This was so extremely petty on my part that it made me sick to my stomach.
After calling him two more times in a row I finally gave in and called my mom who handed the phone over to him. We talked for a couple of hours mostly about the best way to repair and replace broken fence posts. Then we talked about how the term “sheet cake” became “sheath cake” because of various bakers’ loose-fitting dentures.

2:19 p.m. - 2022-02-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

babyhead
axde
witty-remark
newschick
pools-of-red
jimbostaxi'
thecity
home-of-d
in-alaska
murder
orangepeeler
valasaurus
narcissa
se7enchance
dangerspouse
comebacktome
mainsqueeze
starfacemoon
moodswing
dizzigemini
boombasticat
u-saved-me
atwowaydream
darthuae
seventhofmay
rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
u2october
alethia
smokin8balll
sky-rocket