bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Prickly Pear

Drove out to the Hill Country for the weekend. I haven’t left town in almost 2 years. The Hill Country is essentially the eastern corridor to the Chihuahuan Desert. I haven’t spent much time out there. We planned to watch the meteor showers but the date got moved back to the full moon. The full moon this month was obscenely bright. No stars, no meteors, just blinding moon-bleached sky.
Unfortunately, mistakes were made and I ended up drinking a bottle of champagne and somebody’s Michelob Ultra Organic Cucumber Lime Hard Seltzer and walking on a cactus barefoot. My mother told me my grandfather got sepsis from this exact thing. Today I got my first tetanus shot in 35 years. Yet another vaccine coursing through me this year. If I live, I will never make this mistake again. If I die, hopefully I won’t have anymore bullshit to worry about. Fingers crossed.

9:16 p.m. - 2021-08-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

babyhead
axde
witty-remark
newschick
pools-of-red
jimbostaxi'
thecity
home-of-d
in-alaska
murder
orangepeeler
valasaurus
narcissa
se7enchance
dangerspouse
comebacktome
mainsqueeze
starfacemoon
moodswing
dizzigemini
boombasticat
u-saved-me
atwowaydream
darthuae
seventhofmay
rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
u2october
alethia
smokin8balll
sky-rocket