bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eddie Van Halen

Eddie Van Halen was always there. Van Halen was one of those bands that were always there. They were always on tour. Always in the news. Always on the radio, MTV, the mall, anyplace. The sound of his guitar playing was just part of the background. I liked them as a kid because I liked almost anything on the radio. One didn't even need to think about Van Halen. They were like a sonic appendage
In 1992 I saw them play at Reunion Arena in Dallas on their “For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge” tour. A good friend of mine was a big fan and begged me and another friend to go with him. This was when Sammy Hagar was still the singer. Neither of us wanted to go and he ended up paying for all our tickets. Also his mom went since we couldn’t drive yet. We sat in the nosebleed section at the sold out stadium.
It ended up being a very good show. One of the best shows I’ve been to in fact. I was surprised how much energy they all had. The bass player was the only one chugging whiskey. The bass player has a Jack Daniels bottle-shaped bass. I think Eddie was on the cusp of his cancer diagnosis. The drummer had his drums on some kind of lift, elevating him pretty high. Sammy Hagar ran around stage constantly. They all did their signature super-long solos and played for probably 2 hours.
Even though this ended up being a positive experience, it did not change my feelings about Van Halen. Now I simply understood how one could come to be a Van Halen fan. My fandom ceased to extend past 1984.

9:21 p.m. - 2020-10-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

valasaurus
newschick
pools-of-red
jimbostaxi'
thecity
home-of-d
orangepeeler
murder
narcissa
dangerspouse
se7enchance
comebacktome
mainsqueeze
moodswing
starfacemoon
dizzigemini
boombasticat
smokin8balll
atwowaydream
darthuae
seventhofmay
in-alaska
rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
witty-remark
sky-rocket
axde