bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bow of Bees

Dumping sweet potato skins into the compost bin I noticed a lot of bees congregated. I open the door to the bin and bees begin swarming. One stings me on the arm. I shoo it away, brush out the stinger and run. The last time I was stung by a bee maybe 40 years ago? At any rate, I did not realize bee stings were so painful and long-lasting. I'll take a half-dozen wasp stings over a single bee sting any day. Thing swelled up a nice 3 inch circle and itched like a motherfucker for 2 days. Next morning I go out to look at what was going on by the compost bin. Bees swarming around a good 10 foot diameter. Inside the bin was a fairly large beehive. I have no experience whatsoever with beehive eradication and looked up what I should do. Call A Professional is the consensus. Normally I would soak whatever hive in Raid and call it a day, but it is extremely bad karma to kill bees. I thought about spraying a high pressure water jet in the bin but I know bees remember faces and they would just come right at me with no mercy. I called some beekeepers and the going rate for beehive removal is $150. I thought about wrapping the whole bin in a sheet and driving it out to the woods. Dumb Idea, I thought. Reluctantly, I asked a beekeeper to come get it. The beekeeper wrapped the bin in a sheet, put it in his minivan and drove away with my money and my bin. There's my $150 lesson on how to deal with a beehive.

10:18 p.m. - 2020-05-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

valasaurus
newschick
pools-of-red
jimbostaxi'
thecity
home-of-d
orangepeeler
murder
narcissa
dangerspouse
se7enchance
comebacktome
mainsqueeze
moodswing
starfacemoon
dizzigemini
boombasticat
smokin8balll
atwowaydream
darthuae
seventhofmay
in-alaska
rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
witty-remark
sky-rocket
axde