bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Floating Rib

A couple of weeks ago I was stretching and heard a loud pop, then great amounts of pain from my rib cage. I started laughing because that's what some people do when they get hurt. Twenty years ago a drummer in a noise band I was in pulled a wrestling move on me and broke some ribs on my right side. Everybody said there's nothing to do about it so I spent six weeks painfully breathing and sleeping on my back like a vampire with my arms straight against my sides.
Seven years ago I was in a bicycle accident wherein my front wheel fell off and I was propelled into the ape hangers then onto the street chest first. There's probably a post about it somewhere in here. At any rate, I broke the same ribs again and drowned the pain in whisky for another six weeks. Not long after that I noticed recurring pain on my right side. A doctor said a bone cyst had developed, essentially making the broke spot on the ribs rubbery. He said it wasn't a big deal but if later It was causing too much pain I should come see him and he would remove any bad ribs. I was surprised to learn this is the only permanent solution. Since this has been ocurring more often, I now have to consider this treatment.
The ribs have now become bowed out and weird looking. It's not as gruesome as it sounds. They've started making clicking noises. It's also referred to as slipped rib, floating rib, rib subulaxation, rib dislocation. I'm not looking forward to having my ribs removed. At least I don't have flail chest.

10:45 p.m. - 2020-02-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

pools-of-red
jimbostaxi'
secret-motel
home-of-d
orangepeeler
murder
valasaurus
narcissa
smokin8balll
witty-remark
dangerspouse
se7enchance
comebacktome
mainsqueeze
moodswing
starfacemoon
boombasticat
atwowaydream
seventhofmay
dizzigemini
darthuae
in-alaska
thecity
rivergoddess
the-grey-one
sky-rocket
axde