bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More Death Notices

David Berman R.I.P.
I was lucky enough to open for the Silver Jews 11 years ago at their only Austin show ever. He spoke quietly and gave us free t-shirts. I’ve always known he was severely depressed. Still, I was very upset when I got the news. I was standing in my yard watering the jasmine.

Daniel Johnston R.I.P.
Nobody in town listens to or knows anything about Daniel Johnston, despite the excellent documentary that came out a while back. All they know is the perpetually defaced, black spray-painted mural he did on the side of a record store that shut down 20 years ago. The mural is of a frog-like creature with the words “Hi, How Are You” written above.
Danny was ridiculously unhealthy. Constantly drinking a big-gulp full of coca-cola. Chain smoking. Doing any drug anyone handed him. Obese and sweaty. He had to have a “minder” look after him when he did shows to make sure he didn’t take drugs from anybody or paw on girls. He was awkward and confusing to talk with. I can’t even remember how many times I’ve seen him perform. At least 7 times. He was one of the greatest songwriters in history. Daniel Johnston is the patron saint of Austin.

11:36 p.m. - 2019-09-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

thecity
rivergoddess
the-grey-one
home-of-d
valasaurus
orangepeeler
murder
narcissa
witty-remark
se7enchance
comebacktome
mainsqueeze
moodswing
starfacemoon
boombasticat
atwowaydream
dizzigemini
darthuae
seventhofmay
smokin8balll
in-alaska
secret-motel
dangerspouse
jimbostaxi'
sky-rocket
axde