bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hive pt. 1

It hasn’t gotten cold here yet. The plants think it’s spring. I feel sorry for these plants because it will probably freeze hard the moment they blossom. The mist brought a scourge of weeds and the oak trees are covered in ball moss. My neighbor has an oak tree around 40 years old. Much of its branches extend onto my property. Last year I noticed a rather large hive near the top of the tree about 20 feet up. Initially, I thought it was a medicine ball, mostly because it’s brown with a leathery appearance. Except it’s about a medicine ball and a half in size. It looks a lot like a beehive but the tree guy said it was probably paper wasps. The tree guy tapped on it with a very long pole and it immediately began swarming with black wasps. The outside of the hive turned black and began to vibrate with wasp movement. After that we left it alone.
In the winter it makes a spectacle up there in the bare tree. People walking around the neighborhood see it and ask what it is. I tell them and they shudder. Wasps aren’t much of a problem for me and I like the way the hive looks way up there but my neighbor, who owns the tree, wants it removed. She has little kids and is fearful of stings. Since it’s technically on my property I’m the one responsible for the hive. A friend of mine saw it and now regularly asks if he can have it. He claims it’s worth hundreds of dollars. Today I told him it’s time we consider removing the hive. Tomorrow we remove the hive.

9:19 p.m. - 2019-02-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

orangepeeler
narcissa
se7enchance
witty-remark
dangerspouse
comebacktome
mainsqueeze
sky-rocket
starfacemoon
moodswing
boombasticat
dizzigemini
atwowaydream
darthuae
in-alaska
seventhofmay
rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
home-of-d
valasaurus
murder
smokin8balll
axde
thecity