bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rat Snake

I stopped my car when I saw a snake crawling across a road next to a park by the river. I drove around it, parked and got out to look. Maybe 5 - 6 foot long rat snake. Crawling very slowly across the road. No other cars were around. I stood in the road watching it crawl into the grass, telling it to hurry up and that I was in a hurry. I feel bad for the snakes around here. Stray cats are abundant. They eat all the birds and snakes. A slow snake has no chance.
Later, I drove by again. Maybe 6 vultures were playing tug-of-war with a dead snake. I thought momentarily maybe it was a different snake. I assume a cat killed it. I hoped the snake, before it was killed, bit the cat.

1:17 p.m. - 2014-07-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

starfacemoon
axde
dizzigemini
boombasticat
atwowaydream
darthuae
seventhofmay
in-alaska
rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
moodswing
smokin8balll
sky-rocket