bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Security Dollar

The Laundromat I frequent is next door to a Family Dollar. I put my clothes in the wash and walk over to look at the cheap junk while waiting. The other day I went in and noticed security devices had been taped with clear packing tape onto many random items. The security devices were those you�d normally see attached to clothes. The ones with the circular ink cartridges set to go off if removed from the clothing item without the proper device. The ones with the ink and the four-inch rectangular metal-detection cartridge. They are made to be attached to clothing. Apparently theft is terrible enough at this store they decided to pay employees to tape these things onto almost everything there. I noticed a large rack full of Bic lighters. Every single lighter had a security device aggressively taped onto it. Soda cans, toothbrushes, combs, hot wheels, packing tape, crackers, bath mats, plungers, lamps, everything. I didn�t see any security tags taped to clothing items except sox. I bought a lighter and watched as the girl at the counter struggled to remove the thing from the package without tearing it open. As I was leaving, of course, I see no actual security system.

1:16 p.m. - 2013-01-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

starfacemoon
axde
dizzigemini
boombasticat
atwowaydream
darthuae
seventhofmay
in-alaska
rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
moodswing
smokin8balll
sky-rocket