bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bats

The end of summer in Texas brings out bats. In Austin the bats usually stay under bridges and don't go much into neighborhoods. At sunset they leave their habitats en masse to eat bugs and come back later for more sleeping.
In San Antonio bats do not feel the need to confine themselves to overpasses but rather inhabit the bridges, overhangs, dense trees and generally any mostly-darkened area. I can hear weak bat-squeak outside my windows all hours of the night. I try to make sure I am not walking around outside just after dark. The bats fly down from the trees in the park and flap around my head. I swing my arms around and run. The trails in the park are the worse. If the bat-attack starts while I'm on the tip of a long trail It becomes a 15 minute bat-attack. I have never been bitten but it seems imminent. I feel like I have nightmares of bats getting tangled in my beard. I am not sure if that is exactly the dream.

2:04 a.m. - 2011-08-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

atwowaydream
darthuae
seventhofmay
in-alaska
rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
smokin8balll
sky-rocket
dizzigemini
axde