bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Python

A few months ago I was riding my bike through the park and saw a large snake in the road. I stopped and took some pictures and looked at the snake for a long time. It was very large and very still, I would say roughly 6 feet long, right in the middle of the road. A guy with a dog walked by and I told him to come over and look at this huge snake. The guy was dumbfounded and hurried away kind of chuckling with fear. I was a bit overwhelmed and was having trouble placing what kind of snake it was. I felt sorry for it because I figured it was very soon about to get run over by a car but it turned around and crawled up into a tree. I had never seen a snake that big "in the wild" as it were.
The next day I was at PetCo having my dogs' nails trimmed and while I was looking at the snakes in their little terrariums I realized the snake in the park was a ball python. Someones pet had gotten loose or was set free. It was just a gentle defenseless thing looking for mice in the park.
A few days ago my landlady told me she had seen a snake on her porch and was scared. I told her about the python and she was noticeably concerned. The other day she told me she had "reported it". I can only imagine the conversation with the person she "reported it" too sounded like hearsay. Every time I go to the park I look in the trees for the python. I sincerely wish it to have a long prosperous life eating mice.

11:46 p.m. - 2011-08-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

atwowaydream
darthuae
seventhofmay
in-alaska
rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
smokin8balll
sky-rocket
dizzigemini
axde