bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tree Snakes

There is a large park near my house. In the park is a zoo and a natural history museum. There is a system of waterways and river bends through the park. I come here everyday and look at the river. I bring my dog and we sit on a stump atop a low ridge that overlooks a large amphibian/reptile habitat.
I saw a water snake making its way smoothly across the water to a tree where it slithered onto a branch. I walked over to the tree to closer view the snake. As I came up to the tree I noticed another snake, of a different variety hanging on a tree limb. This snake was black. I stepped back to look through the branches and realized this tree was full of snakes. Many varieties, mostly small, less than 3 feet, mostly non-venomous as far as I could tell. The only snake that was moving was the one I initially saw in the water trying to get a better hold onto the branch.
I thought for a moment that I might be asleep. That this was just another snake-dream wherein this scenario is common. I backed away from the tree and became very aware of the risk here.

2:23 p.m. - 2011-02-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
smokin8balll
sky-rocket
axde
in-alaska