bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

7th Largest City

In some ways San Antonio is a bizarre warp. San Antonio is the 7th largest city in the US. I walk around my neighborhood everyday. I live close to downtown on the San Antonio River that is well know for it's "walk". I notice not many youth in the areas I frequent. Not much of a "young persons" scene here. Not that I am so much the Young Man anymore, but still I notice. Periodically I notice subtle gawking. Not that this is the most unusual thing. The Beard, maybe...certainly sometimes, but more often I feel as though I am perceived as either threatening or generally out of place. My landlady asked if I was from Portland, saying "y'know those types". I didn't know what she was talking about (anglophiles?). I am not from Portland.
Sometimes I run across kids who want to talk enthusiastically about my t-shirt or some other aspect of my appearance.
A guy in my neighborhood said there is no music scene here because conservative people do not like that kind of thing.
A lady in my neighborhood said "It's easy to be on the cutting edge here".

12:03 a.m. - 2011-01-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

rivergoddess
the-grey-one
secret-motel
smokin8balll
sky-rocket
axde
in-alaska