bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gunner

When I was 6 I cut a chunk out of my hair with scissors at school. It seemed like an interesting enough thing to do. I knew almost immediately I had done something I was going to regret. I'm not at all sure why I inherently knew. It wasn't like I had beautifully cut hair. I was a little boy with a $5 haircut. My mom noticed the missing chunk immediately when she saw me and asked in her serious and angry tone who cut my hair. I could not admit that I had done it. I blamed it on a classmate, Gunner J. He was taller and had a speech impediment due to the abnormal growth of his baby teeth. In high-school, Gunner bought a small hand gun and would show it off in his car after school. We would party at his dad's house outside of town. His dad let him stay there alone while he was away on truck-driving jobs. Gunner married his high-school sweetheart, had a baby right out of high school, joined up with the American Motocross Association and began racing professionally, retired from motocross and began working as a youth minister at a liberal christian church in north central Texas. My parents tell me he asks how I'm doing whenever they see him out somewhere. I saw him 5 or 6 years ago at my parents church one xmas I was visiting. It was before he quit motocross. I could still detect remnants of the speech impediment from his abnormally developed baby-teeth.

1:19 a.m. - 2010-08-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smokin8balll
sky-rocket
axde