bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Big News

Six years ago Clear Channel decided to oust the Oldies station from Austin radio and replace it with the BOB station. No Oldies station has existed in Austin in 6 years. All throughout the 6 years with no Oldies station I have tried to explain to people how despicable it is for a major city to lack free public 50's and 60's music. Although most people I came across did not share my feelings there has been a strange void in the city since the Oldies station disappeared. Like a strange signal to leave the city. Like when rats all crawl out of the sewers during bubonic plague outbreaks.
Today I discovered a new Oldies station on the 92.5 FM frequency. This is not a typical Oldies station either. It;s called "True Oldies" and they actually play 50's and 60's music. Not late 60's mostly 70's and disco. I can't communicate how happy this makes me. I can't express how ecstatically relieved I am for this station to have finally manifest.
It may seem trivial. I understand most people do not even think for one second about what is being played on free radio. But I have strong opinions about music from the 50's and 60's and 70's in that people need to have free access to this music. They need to not have to seek it out but have it readily available on their radios. This music explains all other music. And people who listen understand. When this music is not available it is the equivalent of removing all classic literature from a library. It is the equivalent of removing all Renaissance art from the museums.
Radio filled with only contemporary music gives no reference points. Radio filled with only Tejano and hiphop is shallow and pointless. Free radio, as passe as it may be to most people is still a vital force influencing people constantly. Without OLDIES a major piece of the puzzle is missing.

2:39 a.m. - 2009-12-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sky-rocket
axde