bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Latest terrible doctor visit

I took the train to visit my family to see my grandmother before she died. The night before I did not sleep. The entire train ride i did not sleep. The entire terrible trip I did not sleep. My grandmother was lying in ICU with failing lungs and kidneys unable to communicate. On more than 4 occasions my mom or dad almost got into a car accident while we were driving somewhere. I took the train back and could not sleep. several nights later I still could not sleep. I woke up one morning and my limbs were numb and weak and I could not think right. N--- took me to the dr and here is what happened:

nurse- A med student in residence is working with Dr W---- today do you mind if the med student conducts your examination?
me- (thinking)no that's fine i guess
-in the exam room-
late 20's asian girl med student wearing lab-coat
I proceed to tell her my symptoms rather specifically which mostly involve the results of not sleeping. She asks me to answer a series of questions- who is the president, who was the previous president, what year were you born, what city were you born in, etc
then asked to do some simple problems-
begin at 100 counting backwards subtract 7. multiples of 5. hold up so many fingers that i say.
After a series of minimal physical abilities tests the actual Dr. entered the room and stood very close to me with his face less than a foot from mine. The Dr. proceeded to speak to me in German, telling me my full name was very German and wondered how much German I knew and asked what i did for a living. I told him I was an Engraver. He looked liked Patrick McGoohan or somesuch male-lead from the 70's. He said the med student had done an excellent job of diagnosing me and that I had a "classic case of chemical imbalance" and handed me 2 weeks worth of Abilify and told me to schedule a follow-up to see how the meds are working.
With no departing words they both quickly exited the room. I was confused and held the Abilify in my hands wondering what had just happened. I sat in the room for another 8-10 minutes then walked out and asked the receptionist where i pay. She said "up front". "up front" was really busy with people fussing over the anti-bacterial alcohol-based hand cleanser and pig flu, etc. N---'s sister walked in coincidentally and we were all three rather dumbfounded somewhat. Her sister was there to pick up a prescription for their other sister(who was not there).
*Abilify- was approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) on November 15, 2002 for the treatment of schizophrenia
Common side effects: Akathisia, headache, unusual tiredness or weakness, nausea, vomiting, an uncomfortable feeling in the stomach, constipation, light-headedness, insomnia, sleepiness, shaking, and blurred vision.
Uncommon side effects: Uncontrollable twitching or jerking movements, tremors, seizure, and weight gain. Some people may feel dizzy, especially when getting up from a lying or sitting position, or may experience a fast heart rate.

I did not take any Abilify. rather, I deduced my condition to that of an extemporaneous nervous disorder brought about by over exposure to my parents. I went back to my schedule and am fine.

3:15 a.m. - 2009-10-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sky-rocket
axde