bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

4 Years ago

4 Years Ago


2004-01-19 - 11:05 p.m.
I went to work for the first time in just over a month today. Same bullshit. I finished reading "Our Band Could Be Your Life" by Michael Azerrad, the guy who wrote "Come As You Are", that book about Nirvana. Well, I didn�t read "Come As You Are", but "Our Band..." was unfucking believably phenomenal. It pumped me up so much, but only to let me down during the epilogue that smugly, redundantly stated that independent rock is a huge mess now and nothing's happening. It made me want to just go ahead and break up my band like I have been feeling like doing lately. It's such a good book. Anybody who was ever a fan of black flag, minutemen, minor threat, mission of burma, husker du, the replacements, fugazi, mudhoney, big black, butthole surfers, beat happening, any of those- needs to read this book.
It�s been very cold lately. It's nice to have someone to sleep next to when it's so cold. You don't even need the heat on. Makes me wonder if people sleep together more often in the parts of the world where it's cold most of the time. Just a couple of days ago it was very warm. We set a xmas tree on fire and it went up in a huge ball of fire and we got scared it was going to set the trees and roof on fire so we hosed it all down real well. Mike B----- came to visit and see GBV, but GBV cancelled because Robert Pollard fell off the stage and hurt his back. I imagine he must have been hurt pretty bad to cancel a show. We were all caught off guard by the sudden cancellation and didn�t know what to do so we played kerricke and drank absinthe and such. It was all right.

2004-02-01 - 3:31 a.m.
I've been sleeping a lot. like maybe 12 hours a "night". but really the "night" is the day. I wake up and the sun goes down and trim my beard for about an hour, make a can of soup and go for a walk down by the drainage creek where I then dig a small hole with a spoon and bury a small handful of chocolate chips, walk back to my house and get on my bicycle, bike back to the spot where I buried the chocolate chips and read one chapter of The Brothers Karamazov by streetlight, bike back to my house then walk over to the hamburger stand and get a hamburger, walk back to the drainage creek, eat the hamburger, walk thru the adjacent neighborhood peering from the street into houses whose lights are on and windowshades open, walk back to my house, build a fire, eat marshmallows, make a few phone calls, listen to the Sun Ra song "Enchantment" in the headphones a few times, lay on my back and go back to sleep.

7:45 p.m. - 2008-01-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: