bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Converse Interruptus

Over the past 6 months or so I have noticed a change in the mode of communication between others and myself when I go out someplace or am performing somewhere. It�s certainly not an uncommon social occurrence, but never before has it been so consistent, and that�s putting it mildly. Basically what is happening is my conversations are being constantly interrupted. It doesn�t seem like an urgent problem, which it probably is not �urgent� per say, more of a build-up to my noticing that it has been happening almost everywhere I go. I will see someone and go up and talk to them and someone will see me and come up and blatantly interrupt our conversation, no �excuse me�, no apology, and it�s never brief like �I just wanted to say hi�. It�s almost always them simply cutting off the conversation I was having with the other person in order to converse with me. And it�s usually someone I don�t know or don�t know very well. And then a chain reaction starts wherein inevitably someone else will interrupt that person so on and so forth until I tell whomever that I have to go somewhere. I�m trying not to sound smug about it, because I certainly enjoy talking to people but why do people think they can cut off the conversation I was having? I�ve been trying to figure out why such a drastic increase in this behavior and deduced that simply going out so much facilitates this. Playing shows facilitates it. Being around drunks facilitates it. I have never thought of myself as a particularly approachable person, much less a person so compelling as to be constantly interrupted. Then I thought maybe that�s what it is. Maybe I am so unapproachable that it becomes awkward for people to approach me any other way. I don�t see how that makes sense though. This isn�t really one of my major issues I suppose.

7:31 p.m. - 2008-01-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: