bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sonic youth/meat puppets

Thanks to a certain writer friend of mine I received passes to see Sonic Youth and the Meat Puppets @ S----- last night. We went up to the booth and they told us we weren�t on the list and we told them we had spoken to Thurston personally about it and they replied there was nothing they could do. So, pissed off we went up to SY�s tour bus and banged on the door. The road manager came to the door and we told him what was going on. Several other people who were supposed to be on the list were also at the bus. Turns out Thurston had his laptop stolen and lost the guest list. But we all got in anyway. I say this with some reserve but the Meat Puppets were not very good. I was never a huge fan, simply out of circumstance, but I guess I was expecting a lot from them. Seeing a band like that in a 3000 capacity venue is not satisfying.
Sonic Youth on the other hand were great. Best SY show I�ve seen yet. This was my 3rd time in 11 years. Everyone was getting high and they did a long encore �bull in the heather� and �teenage riot�. We tried for a third but no go. I saw pretty much every person I�ve ever known at this show and did a lot of chatting and moving about throughout the show. I think this actually improved my experience drastically. It was so oversold I wasn�t use to being in such large crowds and being so high it was really exhilarating. I�m pleased it was such a success.

11:20 a.m. - 2007-10-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: