bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2003-09-23 - 5:42 p.m.

about 4 years ago...

2003-09-23 - 5:42 p.m.

Sunday I worked security at the Austin City Limits Music Festival located at Zilker Park. I worked from 10am to 12pm. I was stationed at the Northwest Artist/Vendor entrance and sat there all day and all night. This was probably the most uneventful station I could possibly imagine. I was told a series of passes and badges and wristbands that were and were not allowed to enter and exit. None of this mattered to me, seeing that I was only being payed $8 an hour. So, In effect, I let anybody who wanted in or out in or out. After a short while I realized that it makes people feel very special when a security officer allows them someplace they know they are not allowed. This was evident in the overabundance of food and drink that grateful vendors who wanted their buddy's to hang out in the tents kept bringing me.
Other than that, I saw an amazing amount of totally shit crap music by artists who's names were all things like ed burleson or bill smith or joe moore or jack burlington or jimmy branford or tom smithson or lydia moorley or joan brusmith or joe brewski...all total shit. This one guy, Bob Schnieder was THE WORST PEICE OF SHIT. Remember that name BOB SCHNIEDER and avoid him at all costs. Not to be confused with John Schneider of Dukes of HAzzard fame, whom we must pursue at all costs. Another humongous piece of shit is Ben Harper. This dickhead did a 10 minute double slide-guitar solo that was so grating even the fans stopped clapping and started holding their ears in pain. Then he played a bunch of reggae and a violent femmes song "please do not go" in full reggea style. Ben Harper: putting the Gay back in Reggae. Alot of the country music people were playing reggae songs. What the hell...WHy? I didn't get to see any of the bands I was interested in seeing...Yo la Tengo, Ween, The Shins, I guess that's all really.
Anyhoo, some other things...I saw the guy who has a huge batman logo tattooed on his chest wearing a t-shirt with an oval cut out right where his tattoo is...I let Peter Buck (REM) sneak in beer...I found a pair of sunglasses...I ate about 4 sausages...I kicked out the guy from that band Cross Canadian Ragweed because he didn't have a pass...that's about it.

6:25 p.m. - 2007-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: