bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ipod bands unite and stop

Last night i did a show with this one-man-ipod band called The Show is the Rainbow. The trend of ipod bands is catching on quick. I dont really buy into it. especially if it's that shouty electronic hip-hop kind of style, and it usually is. Lazer from dallas is one of those bands. Best Fwends. Treasure mammal. Punk Bunny. To make up for not having a band they just dance like fucking crazy and after about 10 minutes of watching it you feel completely exhausted.
Last week I did a show and an ambient- experimental-laptop band was playing and people in the club were leaving and the bartender began yelling at the band to stop playing and yelling things like "it's not even music" and "i'm in this business to make money". I was embarrassed for the band, the bartender and everybody there. The bartender went on a ranting tirade for about 10 minutes until the band stopped and immediately left without saying a word. While I was playing, to nobody, the bartender shouted up at my band "do you think i was too hard on those guys?". all I could say was "it's your bar". Then after the set I suppose he came to the conclusion that he actually had been too hard on those guys and told me so and bought me a shot of makers.

4:29 p.m. - 2007-08-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: