bridgecity's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Old Man

Something happened.
As I was watching �Endless Summer� The door bell rang. At the door was an old man, about 60-65 dressed in a nice gray suit and holding a shoulder bag. He had the shiny appearance of a preacher with matching smile so I naturally assumed he was a �missionary� of sort. I was surprised since no missionary types that I�ve experienced have come to this neighborhood since I�ve been living here in it. I enjoy speaking with door-to-door types because they are nothing like me whatsoever so I was gearing up to invite this fellow in. He starts right up and says �Hi there! I�m your friendly old-fashioned door-to-door insurance salesman!� in a rather rehearsed way. What he had just said did not register with me anything odd at first. It was a beautiful day so I opened the door to join him outside. As I stepped out he began taking steps backwards. While he was taking steps backward he said �I specialize in sick people� He continued taking steps backward and I naturally just kept following him until about half-way down the driveway I realized he�d been walking backwards for about 20 feet, big smile the whole way. I began to tell him that I didn�t live there and he turned quickly and began running off down the street in a steady jog. I stopped walking and stood in the driveway watching for maybe 5 seconds then instinctively hurried into the house.

10:39 p.m. - 2007-04-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: